Modern Foreign Language

Global Futures is a Welsh Government programme to improve and promote International Languages in Wales. Its vision is for Wales to become a multicultural nation and for learners to experience the range of benefits from learning International Languages as they develop as ambitious, capable learners ready to be citizens of Wales and the world.

The main strategy is to support all learners become global citizens, able to speak to people in other languages, to understand and appreciate their own and other cultures and to be able to have access to a wide range of opportunities both here in Wales and across the world.

Since its launch in 2015, the programme has helped develop support and opportunities for teachers and students. It has been a real pleasure for me to be part of the North Wales team since 2017 and to contribute to the development of our programme in GwE.

In September 2020, a new two-year programme has been introduced and it is my privilege to be the Lead for the GwE Consortium for this exciting new phase.

As we all know, these challenging and unprecedented times have forced us all to be reactive, adaptable, flexible but also even more resilient, creative and forward-thinking than ever before.

Here in North Wales, our MFL teachers and our colleagues in the primary sector are dedicated and extremely talented practitioners, always striving to give the best learning experience to their students.

That is why I believe that, together, we are strong enough to continue our work to promote and develop International Languages in a positive and confident mind-set even in the current context.

I am very fortunate to be surrounded by an astounding team in both the secondary and primary sectors without whom none of our initiatives would be possible. I thank them for their commitment, effort and input as well as their continued support and unwavering enthusiasm.

We are committed to support all our students, teachers and schools develop their skills, provision, experience and opportunities and to prepare for the New Curriculum for Wales.

Half-termly newsletters, messages via emails, the GwE bulletin and Twitter should provide you with most information of the new developments for International Languages in GwE.

But please, do not hesitate to contact me or any of the Team at any time for more detail or for any question. We will try our best to be of help. All contact details can be found below.

Stephanie Ellis-Williams

Stephanie Ellis-Williams

Global Futures GwE MFL / International Languages Lead

stephanieelliswilliams@gwegogledd.cymru

0300 5008087 / 07970 964117

The Global Futures GwE Team

Stephanie Ellis-Williams

Stephanie Ellis-Williams

Global Futures GwE MFL / International Languages Lead

stephanieelliswilliams@gwegogledd.cymru

0300 5008087 / 07970 964117

Primary Lead Schools for International Languages:

School LA IL coordinator  
Beddgelert Gwynedd Esyllt Williams EsylltLlewelynWilliams@gwynedd.llyw.cymru; WilliamsE1863@hwbcymru.net;
Tudweiliog Gwynedd Julie Williams williamsj99@hwbcymru.net;
Penysarn Ynys Môn Delyth Roberts ysg2162@anglesey.gov.uk; Robertsd402@hwbcymru.net;
Deganwy Conwy Lisa Eardley EardleyL9@hwbmail.net;
Clawdd Offa Denbighshire Angharad Lloyd BeckA6@hwbcymru.net;
St Brigids Denbighshire Georgina Newnham newnhamg1@hwbcymru.net;
Golftyn CP School Flintshire Claire Thompson ThompsonC50@hwbmail.net;
Bryn Deva Flintshire Danae Graham d.graham@bryndeva.co.uk;
Victoria Primary School Wrexham Carole Seaton seatonc3@hwbcymru.net;  caroleseaton@icloud.com;

Hub Leaders Secondary schools:

Hub Hub Leader Name and School E-mail Address
Hub Leader Gwynedd / Anglesey: Emma Green (Ysgol Dyffryn Ogwen – Bethesda) emmag@ydo.cymru
Hub Leader Conwy / Denbighshire: Viviane Vick (Prestatyn High – Prestatyn) vvick@prestatynhigh.co.uk
Hub Leader Wrexham / Flintshire: Angela Gregory (Alun School – Mold) Angela.Gregory@alun.flintshire.sch.uk
GBC Lead: Lucy Douglas (Rhyl High School) ld@rhylhigh.co.uk